Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (2) - Books (47)

Changeless (Parasol Protectorate #2) review

Posted : 4 years, 10 months ago on 27 January 2013 10:50 (A review of Changeless (Parasol Protectorate #2) )

As far as sequels go, this was a pretty good one. Less smutty than the first which I appreciated, but in a way less fresh. Maybe it's because I read them so close together. Anyway, I'm glad they finally shed just a little light on the octopus thing and the mystery was just as interesting and compelling this time. I would give it 5 stars, but it felt less mind blowing this time so 4 1/2 it is.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments, Book 1) review

Posted : 4 years, 10 months ago on 24 January 2013 08:36 (A review of City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments, Book 1))

City of Bones may sound like your average young adult fantasy, and in a way it is but it actually came out right before the big ya boom that we are seeing right now. Although sometimes overshadowed by controversy and talk of love triangles, City of Bones actually reads like a new and fresh love story set in a world like no other.

hadowhunters are not regualr people. They are born from angels and spend their days and nights hunting and destroying downworlders, creatures that hunt humans. This book is aobut Clary, and "average" girl, and Jace a dark and mysterious shadowhunter and the adventures and troubles they get into. There are vampires and demons and betrayals, as well as the cursed love triangle, but all of it lends to a beautiful and exciting story.

Recommended for fans of Twilight looking for something better.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Dreamless (Starcrossed) review

Posted : 4 years, 11 months ago on 21 January 2013 08:49 (A review of Dreamless (Starcrossed))

Dreamless picks up pretty much where Starcrossed left off. Helen is on her mission and Lucas is keeping his distance the best he can. Enter, the hottie. You knew going into it that there was going to be a love triangle but I actually think it was handled well. I like Orion even more than I like Lucas. Drama ensues, fighting happens and then...

"It's not our talents that make us safe or dangerous, it's our choices."

So says the wise and proud Helen. It's almost like she knows just how stupid she's going to end up being in the end. Don't get me wrong, I liked this book. I liked it more than I liked Starcrossed for sure. I just think Helen made some terrible choices in this book that led to the events at the close. But isn't that the way these hero stories always work.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Stupid Perfect World (HarperTeen Impulse) review

Posted : 4 years, 11 months ago on 20 January 2013 08:03 (A review of Stupid Perfect World (HarperTeen Impulse))

Sometimes a short story is meant to connect two stories, sometimes it's just a taste of what will come in a full length novel to follow but this one is a short story in the truest sense of the word. It tell's a complete story with no promise of more to come. If there were a full length would I read it? You bet your ass, but there was something so sweet and innocent that I hope he doesn't write more. Maybe it would ruin it.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

MILA 2.0: Origins: The Fire review

Posted : 4 years, 11 months ago on 20 January 2013 05:14 (A review of MILA 2.0: Origins: The Fire)

This one is a short one so the review will be too. It was exactly what a short story should be. A hint, a taste of what the full length will be like. I'm ready for the book now.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Hana review

Posted : 4 years, 11 months ago on 20 January 2013 05:10 (A review of Hana)

This short story companion to Delirium is told from the point of view of Hana, Lena's best friend. It takes place during the events of Delirium and offers us a second perspective. It was in some ways better than Delirium. It was shorter for one, and that meant the author couldn't drone on for multiple pages about the same feeling. Sorry, i really didn't like Delirium. So why, you ask, did I read this if I didn't like the first one. The answer is simple. I liked the stry but not the way it was told. I was curious about Hana's motivations. And, it offered me a little reminder of the first before I try to read the second, which will probably takeme months to finish. Overall, I liked it, but not too much.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Ten Tiny Breaths review

Posted : 4 years, 11 months ago on 14 January 2013 08:49 (A review of Ten Tiny Breaths)

“What the hell do I have to do to get your attention? Do I need to get up there?” I throw an arm toward the stage. His eyes swell for just a second, in shock. He reaches forward to hold my hands, but he catches himself in time and instead folds them across his chest. “Believe me, you have my full attention.”

What a way to kick off the new year. This book was amazing. So much better than I ever thought it could be. K. A. Tucker is fast becoming one of my favorite authors and I find myself wondering why so much fanfiction is getting bought up by publishing companies when there are books like this getting missed.

I really can't rave about this one enough. It was one of those New adult books. You know, the ones that bridge the gap between young adult and stuffy grown up books. It's the perfect genre for me. Just a little bit of perfectly written racy content (with the exception of one not quite plausible orgasm) with a lot of story mixed in. The characters where wonderful and Trent was beyond dreamy. More importantly, none of them were perfect and they didn't try to be. Every one was beautifully broken in a way that made them all fit together perfectly. I laughed, and for sure I cried and ten tiny breaths my just be my new stress relief mantra.

READ IT! What more can I say?


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Stopping Time (Wicked Lovely) review

Posted : 4 years, 11 months ago on 13 January 2013 06:05 (A review of Stopping Time (Wicked Lovely))

This short story about Leslie and Niall and Irial was a lovely follow up to Ink Exchange. I've only read the first three books of that series so without knowing what's going to happen in them, it was nice to see where Leslie's story takes her. It was dark and real and as always, Leslie is a beautifully broken character but she seems to be making great strides. I really liked it, for a short anyway.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Goddess Test (Goddess Test, Book 1) review

Posted : 4 years, 11 months ago on 12 January 2013 04:46 (A review of The Goddess Test (Goddess Test, Book 1) )

I'm having trouble knowing the exact rating.

It's hard to say whether I liked this book or not because reading it was difficult. It was hard to force myself to finish it and it felt really (I mean REALLY) predictable to me, but at the same time, I'm interested in the rest of them.

If you do read it, skip the prologue. All it does is ruin all the possible twists in the book. I don't know why she included it but it was annoying and cryptic but at the same time gave so much away.

Not recommended for anyone who knows anything about Greek mythology. Really, don't read it. She pretty much makes the Gods looks like pansies.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Soulless (Parasol Protectorate #1) review

Posted : 4 years, 11 months ago on 12 January 2013 04:45 (A review of Soulless (Parasol Protectorate #1) )

4.25 stars. I really liked this book. It was witty and interesting and new in a way things never really seem new anymore.

It was almost a 5 star book to be honest. Only 2 things brought it down for me. One was the slightly repetitive nature of some parts of the book. For example, everytime a smell is described she uses the exact same words. (And what was with all the octopi? Hopefully that's important in the later books.) Also, the recurring nature of the smutty parts grew a little tiring. Once the feelings are revealed the 2 main characters can't keep their hands, and other parts, off each other.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block