Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (2) - Books (47)

Eternal Hope review

Posted : 2 years, 11 months ago on 1 January 2015 03:03 (A review of Eternal Hope)

I am finally having my faith in indie authors restored. This book was just as good as the first one. It had action and heartbreak and my absolute favorite thing in the whole wide world, a damaged badass boy. Oh Kayden. How I love thee.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Sovereign Hope (A Young Adult Paranormal Romance) review

Posted : 2 years, 11 months ago on 1 January 2015 03:02 (A review of Sovereign Hope (A Young Adult Paranormal Romance))

Wow! The last time I finished an ebook and was this excited about it was over a year ago. This book had everything I want. The writing was great. Frankie Rose really knows how to keep you hooked. The editing was good so I wasn't tripping over errors on every page. Then there was the story. It was fresh and fast paced with lovable characters and kick-ass action sequences. Everything a girl needs for a good read on a Sunday morning.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Perfect Scoundrels review

Posted : 2 years, 11 months ago on 1 January 2015 02:52 (A review of Perfect Scoundrels)

I liked it. I really did. It's just that the corporate espionage stuff isn't as good as the art thieving stuff was.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Hopeless review

Posted : 2 years, 11 months ago on 1 January 2015 02:51 (A review of Hopeless)

Maybe this NA thing isn't for me. Everyone is so whiny and angsty and the guys are always controlling and ridiculous. Didn't finish this one.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Vengeance Bound review

Posted : 2 years, 11 months ago on 1 January 2015 02:50 (A review of Vengeance Bound)

So here's the thing. I think, for the first time ever, that I am too old for this YA book. It was far too repetitive and angsty for me. Potential wasted. But...if you are 13 and like a love story it might be for you.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

For Darkness Shows the Stars review

Posted : 2 years, 11 months ago on 1 January 2015 02:48 (A review of For Darkness Shows the Stars)

Oh this book.
How do you rate a book where nothing seemed to happen and you aren't sure why you liked it but you also know you couldn't put it down? I stayed up late trying to finish it two nights in a row. I guess because it was definitely a romance it wasn't really my thing but it was interesting enough that I kept going. If you are a fan of romance read it. If you aren't, the sci-fi won't be enough to make you like it.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Crash review

Posted : 2 years, 11 months ago on 1 January 2015 02:46 (A review of Crash)

I'm not going to rate this one because I didn't finish it. I've met the author. She's super nice. But I'm just not sure this series is for me. I might try again later seeing as how I have the first 2 and spending time with Nicole an the RT conventions was great.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Collide (Collide series Book 1) review

Posted : 2 years, 11 months ago on 1 January 2015 02:46 (A review of Collide (Collide series Book 1))

Sometimes a free kindle book will surprise you. It will be so much more than you ever thought a free story could be. This is not one of those times. To be honest, I couldn't even make it 50 pages before this book was done for me. The main character was super whiny and the writing was less than impressive.

This one is just not for me.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Falling Kingdoms review

Posted : 2 years, 11 months ago on 1 January 2015 02:45 (A review of Falling Kingdoms)

This is on of those books where I can't figure out why I didn't love it. It was high fantasy of the best sort. Wars, magic, princesses, interesting religions and all kinds of love and murder. I usually go crazy for that but I just couldn't get into this one. The characters are all kind of boring and predictable. Maybe if just one of them had seemed more fleshed out I would have liked it more. Also, sometimes when authors kill characters now it doesn't feel right. It's more like they are just doing it for the shock factor.

Overall it was an interesting but predictable story. I'll read the second if I can find it at the library but I won't buy it.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Burying Water: A Novel review

Posted : 2 years, 11 months ago on 1 January 2015 02:45 (A review of Burying Water: A Novel)

I think I'm in love with K. A. Tucker. Hear me out, I'm not a fan of contemporary or romance or new adult. I like my books with princes and vampires and fights to the death. Give me a fantasy young adult any day. BUT...I have loved every book K. A. Tucker has every written. She sucked me in with her completely original vampire books, kept my interest and introduced me to something new with her Ten Tiny Breaths books and now has won me over yet again.

"He said the truth is like that water: it doesn't matter how hard you try to bury it: it'll always find some way back to the surface. It's resilient."

Water woke up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there or who she is. Taken in by a local family she starts to build a new life but keeps finding herself drawn to the one person who intends to stay away from her. It's the only way he can protect her.

This book is written in dual perspectives and times. The parts told from Jesse's point of view are from the past while Water's are in the present. At first the style was weird but I grew to like it. It was nice to get to see these 2 characters fall in love twice.

As always, the writing was flawless. The character's voices were distinct and interesting. The characters were what really sold this story. The plot was predictable but the characters were amazing.

Let's start with my personal fave. Sheriff Gabe wasn't actually in the story very much but his plotline messed me up. I can't say much without giving anything away. I also really loved Amber. She was so genuine and open and just reminded me of myself. Big dreams that many believe may never happen but I think they will.

Ginny was also a fabulous character. Every time I cried (except after closing it for the last time) was because of Ginny.

What I'm trying to say here was that I loved this book in spite of the lack of suspense so many others seem to have been bothered by. Because it's not a story about us figuring out what happened. It's a story about Water figuring out who she was, is, and wants to be. I loved it in spite of the fact that it's not my usual cup of tea. I loved it. Thank you K. A. Tucker for every word you've blessed me with.


0 comments, Reply to this entry


« Prev12 3 4 5 Next »

Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block